stered by the Federal Government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on Mar. 31, 1949. All land in the Province of Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 130 sq. miles under federal or provincial administration.

Information regarding provincial public lands may be obtained from the respective provinces. (See the Directory of Sources of Official Information, Chapter XXVII, under "Lands and Land Settlement".)

Subsection 1.-National Parks

Canada's National Parks are the result of the Federal Government's efforts to preserve natural areas of outstanding scenic and biological interest for the benefit of the public. The national park concept, which began with the establishment of Yellowstone National Park in the United States in 1872, was soon afterwards applied in Canada. In 1885, the Canadian Government reserved from private ownership the hot mineral springs of Sulphur Mountain in what is now Banff National Park. Two years later, this 10-sq. mile reserve was extended to 200 sq. miles and named Rocky Mountain Park, the first federal park in Canada. In the same year, Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park, the first provincial park, was established by the Ontario Government to protect the public's right to view the great natural wonder of Niagara Falls. Two land reserves in southern British Columbia-Yoho and Glacier-were established by the Federal Government in 1886, a reserve in the Waterton Lakes area of southern Alberta in 1895, and an area of 4,200 sq. miles around Jasper, Alberta, in 1907. These four reserves, all in the western mountain ranges, joined Banff as the nucleus of the National Park system when the Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act was passed by Parliament in 1911. The Act also provided for a distinct National Parks Branch in the Federal Government to protect, administer and develop the parks.

By 1935, nine more National Parks had been established. Three of these were in Ontario and consisted of federally owned Crown land; one in Saskatchewan and one in Manitoba were former forest reserves; Wood Buffalo National Park, straddling the Alberta-Northwest Territories border and occupying an area of 17,300 sq. miles, making it the largest national park in the world, was established as a refuge for the largest surviving herd of Buffalo in North America; Elk Island National Park near Edmonton was also established as a preserve for buffalo; and Mount Revelstoke and Kootenay National Parks, scenic areas in southern British Columbia, were established by agreement between the Federal and British Columbia Governments.

The parks added to the system since 1935 were set up with the co-operation of provincial governments which made lands available for National Park purposes. All lands suitable for National Parks are now under the administration of provincial and territorial governments and a new National Park may be established by Act of Parliament only after the land for it has been acquired by the provincial government and transferred, together with all its mineral and other resource rights, to the administration of the Federal Government.

National Parks are now under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and the National and Historic Parks Branch and are administered under the National Parks Act enacted in 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 189) and various park regulations. The purpose of the parks and the objectives of their management are set out in that Act, which dedicates the parks to the people of Canada for their "benefit, education and enjoyment" and instructs that they are to be maintained and used so as to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.

An important step in the evolution of National Park administration was taken when all policies regarding the parks were reviewed and consolidated in a statement that was